Robin’s Rally

IMG_0451

It’s been too long since I’ve blogged and truth is I’ve been wildly busy. So much has happened in my life these past 6 months that it’s crazy. I’ll catch up on the news soon but for now I’ll talk about an amazing event I took part in this year which a few friends put together called Robin’s Rally. Basically a group of my friends blast up through the backroads of California starting in Southern California taking the long and twisty route every chance we get. It was an amazing and epic drive of about 1000 miles over 3 days. I choose to drive my somewhat recently acquired 1971 Porsche 911T (more on that soon).

The route was mostly paved roads but also included a significant amount of dirt roads in Coalinga and hills above Fresno -it was not for the faint of heart and I had an absolute blast beating the crap out of my car drifting through the dirt roads. It speaks volumes for the amazing versatility of the Porsche 911-even in its hardcore track setup my car did very well. Our group consisted of mostly 911sc’s but there was also two 964’s, a 993, a Cayman GTS and a 912 and the route ranged with everything from 120MPH straight sections, to the tight and twisty “roller coaster”, beat unmaintained paved roads, and gravel and dirt sections, about 500 miles in total ending in Big Sur. I had to leave a day early to be with family but It was a memorable and scenic drive with plenty of Old California scenery from the Gold Rush and Oil Rush eras, periods which I really enjoy studying.

IMG_0444

Parkfield, CA was our lunch spot on day two and was home to some amazing history-it’s also the earthquake capitol of California and the San Andreas fault runs literally through it. I can’t wait for the next one!

IMG_8261

Leave a Reply

